Self-Employed, Independent Contractors and Others can now apply for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance.
Be wary of scammers and do not give out your personal information
Scammers may ask for:
If you would like to report an allegation of fraud involving unemployment insurance, please call the national OIG hotline: 1-800-347-3756 or online at Inspector General Fraud.
The State of Montana triggered on to Extended Unemployment Insurance Benefits (EB) effective 5/3/2020. This adds up to an additional 13 weeks of Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits. To be eligible, you must have exhausted your other UI benefits, including Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC), and not be eligible in another state.
The Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) program expands unemployment benefits to those not covered under regular unemployment. This includes people otherwise able and available to work but who, due to COVID-19 related reasons set forth in the CARES Act, are currently unable or unavailable to work. If that sounds like you, you may be eligible for unemployment benefits under PUA.
Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) is now available. PEUC provides 13 weeks of additional unemployment benefits, if needed, to individuals who have exhausted their previous claim. To file for this extension, claimants must log in or create an account in MontanaWorks.gov, select the “Access Unemployment Claim Services” button then the “File PEUC Extension” button to get started. Any claim that was exhausted or expired after July 1, 2019, may be eligible for the additional 13 weeks of benefits under the program.
The new Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) provision in the “Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act of 2020” (CARES Act) adds an additional $600/week to any benefit payment for which you are eligible. Under this new law, the first week for which the additional $600 is payable is benefit week ending April 4, 2020. Assuming continuing eligibility, the last week the FPUC $600 addition may be paid is benefit week ending July 25, 2020. FPUC payments are taxable by the federal government. Any withholding from benefits you have elected, or may elect, for federal income taxes will also apply to the new FPUC payments. FPUC payments are also subject to offset for child support payments and benefit overpayments.
Professional & Occupational Licenses are required for specific occupations in Montana. Licensure also provides a standard recognized by employers, clients, governments, and the public as an assurance of the dedication, skill, and quality of the occupation. Our license requirements are designed to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public. To apply for or renew your license, please click on one of the following buttons below.
View current job openings and find training and tools to begin a career.
Temporary income for qualified workers who are unemployed through no fault of their own and are looking for full-time work or for approved training.
Job Service Montana offices are part of a statewide network of workforce development centers that collaborate with community partners to provide customer focused employment and training opportunities. These centers assist in preparing, training, and connecting a highly skilled workforce to local businesses.
View a calendar of events for resources that can assist you with writing a cover letter and resume, using a computer, interviewing for a job and more.
A free workforce program that connects Medicaid enrollees with high quality workforce training, employment services, and job openings in local communities.
Earn a paycheck while you receive training from seasoned, skilled workers that teach you the skills of their craft along with classroom instruction.
Unlike most online job posting sites, our employer account is free. Take advantage of these tools to post your job openings.
The Montana Safety and Health Bureau offers safety consultations to identify problems before they become accidents. Workplace hazards have a direct impact on your employees and your business.
Learn how to become an independent contractor, a registered construction contractor, or a home inspector. Search for currently registered contractors.
Establishes the hours minors may work and hazardous occupations in which they may not work - unless specifically exempted.
Our customer Service Center is available to answer USERRA questions (except federal holidays) or to refer cases to a trained Ombudsman.
Montana employers now have the option of utilizing over 800 assessment tests to be used as another tool in designing an employee recruitment system.
View a sample selection of policies for general information only.
Use this worksheet to calculate turnover costs.
Supports the hiring of foreign workers by Montana employers. The purpose of this program is to educate and assist Montana employers in obtaining qualified workers.
Provides grant funding to assist eligible Montana small businesses offset the cost of training for their existing (incumbent) workers.
This tax credit can save Montana businesses up to $9,600 for every qualifying individual hire during their first year of employment.
The Primary Sector Workforce Training Grant (WTG) Program provides grant assistance to primary sector businesses that are creating new jobs and have a need to train the new employees.
The Montana Department of Labor and Industry takes UI Fraud very seriously; all reports of potential, alleged, or suspected fraud are thoroughly reviewed and investigated accordingly.
Through eServices, employers will be able to file and pay their UI Quarterly Reports.
Report all on-the-job injuries or occupational diseases to your supervisor, insurer or employer as soon as possible. You must give notice within 30 days after the occurrence of the accident.
The Employment Relations Division of the Department of Labor and Industry released this bulletin effective March 2003.
Employers must provide workers' compensation insurance defined in the Montana Workers' Compensation and Occupational Disease Acts.
Organizations desiring to be certified as managed care organizations are required to submit an application and pay a fee of $1,500. Once certified, the MCO can contract with insurers to receive their referrals.
A Professional Employer Organization (PEO) is a business that leases employees to other businesses. A PEO manages the paperwork responsibilities associated with having employees.
Minimize avoidable disruption caused by work-related injury or occupational disease and assist the injured worker to return as soon as possible to work.
Program designed to assist individuals with disabilities obtain employment.
Provides benefits to employees injured on the job while working for an uninsured employer. The purpose is to pay the injured worker the same benefits the worker would have received if the employer were covered.
The most common questions and answers regarding workers' compensation. Other information may be found in the Benefits Summary. Nothing on this website is intended as legal advice.
The Montana Department of Labor and Industry has responded to employers' needs by making it easier to obtain posters mandated by laws for posting.
This resource explains the background check process, the potential liability, how to conduct a background check, how to create a written background check plan, and a sample reference check form.
This manual provides informal guidance to help Montana employers develop and implement alcohol and controlled substance testing programs.
This document provides related nondiscrimination legal information for employers who may be unsure of what questions they may legally ask on their company job application or during an interview.
This list contains the Federal Laws relating to Employment, the Federal Laws Regarding Montana Public Employers , and the State Laws Related to Employment.
Adoption of the Average Rate for the U.S. 10-Year Treasury Bills.
The 1997 legislature provided the law and funding to build a prior claim history database for use by insurers at risk on a claim. To be considered "at risk" on a claim in Montana, the Insurer must have a First Report of Injury on file at the Employment Relations Division of the Montana Department of Labor and Industry.
Pursuant to section 39-71-704 (4), MCA, and an administrative rules change to 24.29.1572, and 1582, ARM, on July 1, 2002, the Department adopted the following conversion factors, effective July 1, 2002.
Section 39-71-704(1) (d), MCA, directs WC Insurers to reimburse workers for reasonable travel expenses pursuant to rates allowed for state employees. When determining the reimbursement, please refer to 39-71-704(1), MCA and ARM 24.29.1409.
Montana statute requires insurers to notify the Department of Labor & Industry of any changes of third party administrators with respect to the handling of Montana workers’ compensation claims.
The information in these pamphlets is a summary of the most commonly requested information on workers' compensation wage loss and medical benefits available to covered employees injured on the job.
All insurers are to file a complete report of every injury or occupational disease to the department, either on a paper claim form or by electronic means within specified timelines. Electronic reporting is required.
Used by an injured worker, employer or insurer/adjuster to report an injury or occupational disease.
Used by insurers and adjusters as a quick, efficient method of communicating data to the Department.
Used by an injured worker to report an injury or occupational disease to his/her employer.
Forms commonly used in the Medical Regulation Unit functions of the workers' compensation system.
Used to report changes in adjuster, claim administrator, or third party administrators.
Effective July 1, 2011, 39-71-1036, MCA, requires the treating physician or a designee to complete the form following every office visit with the injured worker. The Legislature directed the Department to create the form to be used for injuries or occupational diseases.
Under Montana law, parties must attempt to resolve their disputes BEFORE seeking mediation. Mediation is required in most cases before a petition may be filed in the Workers' Compensation Court.
The forms listed below are those commonly used in the Claims Assistance Units Functions of the workers' compensation system.
A program designed to assist individuals with disabilities obtain employment.
Applies to all services and procedures provided on or after January 1, 2008 covered under Chapter 71 of the Montana Workers’ Compensation Act.
When a worker suffers from a condition that requires 24-hour care and that results from the accident but that requires domiciliary care other than as provided in Title 37, chapter 8.
The purpose of mediation is to prevent, when possible, the filing in the Workers' Compensation Court of disputes by injured workers or insurers if a fair and reasonable resolution can be reached at an earlier stage.
responsible for publishing updates to the Montana Professional Fee Schedule and the various Montana Facility Fee Schedule components.
frequently asked questions and answers, you may also find answers in the Benefits Summary. Nothing on this website is intended as legal advice.
The Montana Career Lab offers a variety of tools to assist individuals wanting to learn more about career options.
Complete list of all job openings within the Department of Labor and Industry.
Search for education and training providers and programs of study.
The Montana Career Information System provides users the ability to explore over 500 occupations.
Promoting student success by connecting students with local employers and teaching them workplace, leadership and career readiness skills.
You’ve gotten the news that you’re being laid off and whether your last day was today or is a month from now, this website is designed to help you through this transition.
UI Fraud is a crime which affects everyone. It drives up the cost of UI taxes for businesses and causes frustration for law-abiding employers and workers.
The Employment Specialists at Montana's Job Service offices can assist all Veterans in securing employment and training, as well as refer Veterans to other service providers in both public and private agencies and organizations.
The Licensee Lookup System will return a list of possible matches to your search criteria. Lookup a licensed individual or business for their license type, license number, status, expiration date, city, state, and any associated endorsements or complaints.
Use the EBiz online portal to renew or print your license. You can also update your contact information here.
Visit the EBiz online portal to apply for your professional or occupational license.
Use the EBiz online portal to apply for building permits, pull permits, and search permit holder records 24 hours a day.
Find out how to get licensed in Montana, as well as information about professional and occupational licensing boards.
Our Department regulates professions and occupations for the protection of the public as a whole. Although the Department does not represent individuals filing complaints, the Department will review complaints in a timely manner to ensure a complaint is processed and that the Board will take appropriate action.
Discrimination is against the law if based on a protected class (age, race, color, national origin, religion, creed, disability, marital status, sex, political belief (in government) or retaliation).
A person who believes that they have experienced illegal discrimination should contact the Montana Human Rights Bureau at (406) 444-4356 or 1-800-542-0807.
Montana's discrimination laws can be found in the Montana Human Rights Act (Title 49) and in the Montana Governmental Code of Fair Practices.
If you are pregnant or have recently had a child and you believe an employer has denied your right to maternity leave or you believe an employer has otherwise discriminated against you, contact the Montana Human Rights Bureau.
The Montana Human Rights Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act Amendments Act (ADAAA) prohibit discrimination in employment to an applicant or employee because of a physical or mental disability.
Sexual harassment is determined on a case-by-case basis. Acts which are offensive to one employee may not be offensive to another. However, in addition to sexual assault, the following acts may constitute sexual harassment.
How to File an Objection and Brief to Appeal a No Cause Finding.
The Montana Child Labor Standards Act establishes the hours minors may work and hazardous occupations in which they may not work – unless specifically exempted.
A person who believes they have not been paid all wages due them or did not receive minimum wage or overtime pay may file a wage claim with the Wage & Hour Unit.
Provides employment and reemployment protections for those members of the Montana organized militia or federal reserves when they are not covered by the federal “Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994” (USERRA).
Montana's prevailing wage law, often referred to as Montana's Little Davis-Bacon Law, applies to public works contracts entered into for construction services (heavy, highway and building) or non-construction services.
The Collective Bargaining Act for Public Employees is administered by the Board of Personnel Appeals through its agents assigned to the Collective Bargaining Unit. This unit processes unfair labor practice complaints and conducts matters.
The Wage and Hour Unit enforces provisions of the Montana Wage Payment Act, minimum wage and overtime law, Public Contracts / Prevailing Wage Law and the State Child Labor Standards Act.
The Safety Culture Act enacted by the 1993 Montana State Legislature encourages workers and employers to come together to create and implement a workplace safety philosophy.
Consultation services are available for any type of mine in Montana. The Safety Bureau will provide the following services at the employer's request.
The following safety concern notification form is for public entity employees only. A Public entity is defined as any state or local government or any department, agency, special purpose district, or other instrumentality of one or more state.
The first SafetyFestMT was held in Helena in March of 2010. It was a huge success. Hundreds of Montana workers from a variety of industries attended. They raved about the classes, speakers and quality of information.
The Montana Safety and Health Bureau offers free on-site safety training. Before training begins, we require a walkthrough to observe your work environment. This helps us customize the training to meet your specific needs.
Mediation is used to assist an injured worker and the insurer/employer in resolving a dispute concerning benefits under the Workers' Compensation Act. The mediator is a neutral third person who listens to the concerns of both parties and assists.
Mediation is used to assist an injured worker and the insurer/employer in resolving a dispute concerning benefits under the Workers' Compensation Act.
The department administers a program to determine eligibility and pay benefits to those suffering from silicosis.
The department manages the Subsequent Injury Fund, a program designed to assist individuals with disabilities obtain employment.
This fund was created to provide benefits to employees injured on the job while working for an uninsured employer. The purpose is to pay the injured worker the same benefits the worker.
The information in these pamphlets is a summary of the most commonly requested information on workers' compensation wage loss and medical benefits available to covered employees injured on the job. It is not all-inclusive.
The following are frequently asked questions and answers, you may also find answers in the Benefits Summary. Nothing on this website is intended as legal advice.
Labor Market Information and Labor Force Statistics.
Click a location on the map to view more information.
Verify whether your professional is licensed or has any complaints.
Apply or renew your license with the state of Montana.
Hover over the images for more information